blacktitle.jpg (12329 bytes)

An Arna Bontemps Exhibit


Birthplace home of Arna Wendell Bontemps
Alexandria, Louisiana


Arna Wendell Bontemps
Photograph Courtesy:
Aran Bontemps Museum


Drums at Dusk (1929)


Cavalcade of the American Negro (1940)
Edited by Arna Bontemps






Anywhere But Here
by Arna Bontemps and Jack Conroy
Originally published in 1945 as They Seek a City, this classic
was revised and expanded in 1966 to include chapters on
Marcus Garvey, the Black Muslims, Malcolm X,
 and the racial disturbances in Detroit, Chicago, and Watts.



The Pasteboard Bandit
by Arna Bontemps, Alex Bontemps, and Langston Hughes


Bubber Goes to Heaven
by Arna Bontemps
Illustrated by Daniel Minter




Return to Arna Bontemps